100K Miles in 1 Year

My quest to earn Premier 1K status on United Airlines

And so the mileage running begins…

In the past three days or so, I’ve already made three reservations on United and US Airways to start off my mileage run to 100,000 miles.After reviewing the terms of the new Mileage Plus program, US Airways counts as EQM/EQS which made booking flights more flexible.

Before booking my flight to San Diego, I found an extremely cheap flight from San Diego to Fort Lauderdale, round-trip for only $294. After some thought and searching around, I decided to book it because of the mileage accumulation, price, and timing. It’s a red-eye flight out of San Diego with a return on the next day (no hotel stay).  This marks my first ever trip soley for mileage accumulation as I have no reason to go to Fort Lauderale.

After booking that flight, I decided to book my flight from school to San Diego. I debated flying out of sevaral airports, including going out from Knoxville, TN (about 4 hours away) because of it’s rock-bottom prices of $240 for a round-trip ticket to San Diego. However, when I considered the timing and costs, I ended up choosing to fly out of Roanoke to San Diego and back.

The third flight I booked was a flight from Lynchburg, VA (two hours away) to San Diego. At $379, the price was hard to beat and worked out perfectly with my schedule.

In total, I’m anticipating to accumulate 14,428 EQM, bringing my total to 24,088. Pacing myself at about 25,000 every 3 months, means I’m right on track to 100,000 miles.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment